Our journey has begun!

From Calgary, Canada to Santa Fe, Argentina

A week ago today – in Canada – I was in a panic packing and organizing our life into suitcases while trying to clean and pack up a house for rental, after packing up and organizing my classroom, after marking and organizing all report card information, after quelling the panic in my diploma exam students, after tearful goodbyes and gratitude to have been blessed with such wonderful friends, colleagues, and students these past few years in Calgary.

All that chaos, anxiety, and stress melted away after we passed the check-in and security  – with a few hiccups.  On Tuesday, February 4th our 33 hour journey abroad began to Santa Fe, Argentina.  To be honest, after all our stress, it was very relaxing to sit and sleep for hours on a plane.

Fresh morning facturas from the Panaderia

Today, a week later, we have comfortably adjusted to this Argentinian life with little effort – although our body clocks are still on Calgary time! Luckily with the heat and casualness – with no expectations on us for work or school yet – we can indulge this clock and slowly adjust to four hours ahead.  As I sit here writing it is 1pm; however, it really feels like 9am – and given that I only surfaced three hours ago, it truly is morning, for me.  I should be preparing lunch, but we have just enjoyed bread and facturas and coffee, of course!

IMG_7581
Conga line in the pool Eliana, Tulia, Luca and myself!

Our arrival has been calm with family poking up here and there to welcome and greet us; most of our time has been with Cristian’s sister Eliana, brother Alex, mother Graciela, and our nephew Franco and niece Evelin .  We have enjoyed some wonderful meals together – especially yesterday when we happily hosted our family here for an afternoon of asado – delicious Argentinian BBQ – and swimming.  Having a pool is not something everyone has here and with temperatures in the high 30s, it is a welcome relief for all!  The kids have spent hours developing their fins and gills.  Not much has happened beyond living, reading, eating, swimming, shopping, going for helados (ice cream), drinking mate (tea); our time has been embraced with family!  Not much else is needed!

Asado – Argentinian BBQ! Delicious!

As I look back on the last month, a powerful moment was sitting with my Grade 12s – all of us having a tender moment of mutual love and appreciation for each other.  Leaving them was hard, especially after our bond and it being their graduating year.  But I said then that I wanted them to take a lesson from me in this move I was doing – to never say no to an opportunity, and although opportunities come with great work, grief, stress, excuses, and ridiculous efforts – to persevere is essential.

I believe that it is an important lesson for us all to run away for a while to experience a life unknown.  If it matters, make it happen!  If you dream it, let it reveal! In the journey you will learn so much about yourself and life.

But, true too, it is important to learn to pause, breathe, and smile! Argentina gives me this gift!

The backyard of our home here.
The backyard of our home here.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “Pausing to Breathe and Smile

  1. Oh, Hunni! It’s only your first entry and already I’m desiring to leave this snow-ridden land for an adventure unknown! For now, I will live vicariously through you — I’m so thankful that you have arrived safely and you are enjoying sun and fun and family. Love you. BA P.S. My anti-spam word is “wing diet”! LOL!

  2. You are warming my heart! I love your pics and especially love your passion for the whole experience. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Awesome. That green grass has me seriously jealous back here in The North Pole… errr Calgary. Enjoy every minute!

  4. Wow, if anyone deserves this fabulous break it is certainly YOU! Good for you getting over the mountain and now enjoy your time. I look forward to many posts!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *